Alana008's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Lumiere Critique November 1, 2010

Filed under: Film — AlanaR @ 12:01 am

Initially, my partner and I were going to film two people sitting on a couch and have each of them look at the other person when the other person wasn’t looking and then vice versa. However, after we thought more about it we realized that it would be hard to make that scene look realistic and not staged as Lumieres are supposed to. Instead, we decided to film an indoor soccer game and focus on the feet of the players rather than on their entire bodies. We set up the camera behind the net of the goal and filmed the players warming up. I was please with the end result of our Lumiere. I particularly liked the frame and prospective we captured. By focusing in on the player’s feet we were able to capture the true essence of soccer, which most people never see that closely when they are watching a match. I was a little disappointed at the end of the Lumiere that my camera moved. I didn’t realize it until someone said something in class, so that is certainly something I would have changed. In addition, it may have been cool to capture the players’ feet as they ran the entire length of the field rather than when they were running horizontally across half of the field. I enjoyed showing our Lumiere to an audience and hearing their constructive criticism. There were a lot of positive reactions to our Lumiere- most people liked the frame and how we focused in on the players feet. We also received some criticism for the camera moving at the end of the Lumiere and for the frame being too zoomed in.

I really liked Michael Egan and Kevin O’Shaughnessy’s Lumiere filmed in the metro station.  The camera was steady the entire time, which many classmates, including myself had trouble with. The lighting helped create a dark, almost mysterious mood. The lack of movement in the beginning of the Lumiere created anticipation for the viewers, as we didn’t know if the metro was going to come or not. The texture of the metro platform and the light-up wall behind it  made for a great frame for their Lumiere. Perhaps my only suggestion would be to expand the frame so that the viewers could see more of the metro because it is a little hard to determine what it is if you’re not familiar with metros. Other than that, I commend them for a job well done.

 

Leave a comment